What Are The Three Jewels of Jainism? What is Ratnatraya?

One of the central tenets of Jainism is emphasizing the concept of Ratnatray roughly translating to the triple gems or three jewels. The three things that they emphasize are the right faith, right knowledge, and right conduct and that these three concepts will lead to liberation or the soul will move up spiritually. Let’s examine each of these jewels more closely.

Right Faith 

Jain’s have a specific philosophy that is comprised of seven fundamental concepts. These include the soul, the non-soul, evil karma, the mixing of karma and the soul, preventing evil karma into the soul, separating the soul and evil karma and ultimately liberation.

In Jainism, a person has the right faith has spiritual calmness and the desire for soul liberation. They will also disregard earthly possessions, be kind and believe in endless birth-life-death south cycle.

Right Knowledge

In Jainism, there are five types of knowledge: sensory knowledge, spiritual knowledge, clairvoyance, telepathy, and omniscience. The theory of knowledge is based on the belief that reality can be viewed from many different viewpoints. The main viewpoints in Jainism include:

  1. In some ways it is
  2. In some ways it is not
  3. In some ways it is and is not
  4. In some ways it is and it is indescribable
  5. In some ways it is not and it is indescribable
  6. In some ways it is, it is not and it is indescribable
  7. In some ways it is indescribable

Right Conduct 

Right conduct refers to the application of the knowledge learned and to control our inner desires in an effort to reach liberation. The fire principles of right conduct include mental calmness in tough situations, penalties (like fasting when losing mental calmness), refraining from injury, control of passions and contemplation of one’s own soul.

Other right conduct refers to the 5 major vows:

  1. Not to hurt living beings by actions or thoughts
  2. Not to lie
  3. Not to steal
  4. Chastity and celibacy
  5. Detachment of personal property

For those who believe in Jainism by following these three jewels, there’s a chance that their soul can reach spiritual enlightenment.